Amaliegade 38 (1792). Library “Det Classenske Bibliotek”. By designs of the founder, Johan Frederik Classen (1725-1792). The Library had 30,000 volumes, the third after the Royal Library and the University Library, and was open to the public on weekdays from 11 AM to 2 PM.
In 1834, Politivennen reported that the visitors suffered this experience from a neighbouring guardhouse: “It offers an extremely ugly sight that disgraces the street. But even more, this is increased by the dirty use it has. Two streams of muddy filth flow from the guardhouse into the gutter, so that the bypassers, and especially ladies have to jump over them, in order not to become soiled. ... it seems incomprehensible that such a place is tolerated in the city's main street between Amalienborg and the Esplanade. At least, the guard house should be moved from time to time to distribute the evil.”