Friday was #DelawareDay, so I figured it’s worth mentioning that I'm so proud to come from a state where texting and handheld phone use while driving are illegal. If you engage with your phone while driving in Delaware, you're not only risking killing or injuring yourself or others--you're also going to lose a few hundred bucks. That’s been the case for the past seven years: "Delaware's hands free cell phone law has been in effect since 2011 and bans all drivers from using hand held smart phones, cell phones, tablets, laptops, games or other portable computers while driving. Drivers are not allowed to talk without using a hands-free device, read, write or send text messages, email or use the Internet while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers caught using a hand-held device will be fined $100 for their first offense. Subsequent offenses will be no less than $200 and no more than $300. "Delaware became the 30th State in the nation to have a texting ban, and the 8th to also ban the use of hand held cell phones. No State completely bans the use of cell phones altogether." Thank you, Delaware. Now, let's work on that complete ban. It wasn’t a text that killed my dad, a lifelong Delaware resident. It was a phone call.
#delaware #delawaredriving #loveiswhatdrivesme #drivesafe #foryourselfandyourfamily #lovealwayswins